2018 Participant Projects

The 2018 Dow Jones New Fund sponsored HBCU Digital Media Workshop participants worked diligently to produce three multimedia local news stories.

 
 
MVIMG_20180725_121415.jpg

Plowed Over 

Three majors problems face Warren County, Kentucky farmers :  development, lack of capitol and labor.

See the storyboard.

Meet the Team:
Jason Johnson | miccolo@comcast.net | twitter.com/jasonmiccolo
Ingrid Sturgis | isturgis@gmail.com | linkedin.com/in/ingridsturgis
Kim Smith | kcsmith1@ncat.edu | drkimsmith.wordpress.com


MVIMG_20180726_212754_2.jpg

Sales Tax or Not, Non-profit dedicated to helping kids. 

Teen boys involved in programs to mentor and motivate them are less likely to be involved in violent incidents, a recent study shows. In Bowling Green, this cycle of staying out of violent behaviors is likely to continue for local youths, because local organizations, counselors and sponsors who serve them say they won’t be distracted – not even by a new sales tax on admission fees for some programs hosted by nonprofits.

See the storyboard.

Meet the Team:
David Squires | dsquires80@aol.com | linkedin.com/in/davidsquires80
Jennifer Thomas | jennifer.thomas@howard.edu
Micheal Pearce | mmp1704@gmail.com


IMG_20180726_212227.jpg

Melting Pot on the Hill 

Black student enrollment is declining at WKU because student say the environment is unfavorable.

See the storyboard.

Meet the Team:
Robbie Morganfield | morganfieldr@gram.edu
Victoria Walker | vmwalker9@gmail.com | victoriamwalker.com
Angeline Taylor | angeline.taylor@famu.edu
Christine McWhorter | christinecwhorter@gmail.com